CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy ip for router?switch?

    hey guys..im a beginner in network world..im a student..curren lty working hard for my ccna exam..got one question..does router/switch got ip address?
    somehow i saw the command only set ip for interfaces??can anyone elaborate for me!thanks mate!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,425

    Default

    Routers use the IP addresses of their interfaces, switches can be assigned an administrative IP address using VLAN 1 interface, but it's not needed for layer 2 switches to work.
    CCNP R&S, CCNA DC
    Currently studying: CCIE R&S, CCNP Data Centre
    Follow my CCIE progress with study notes on my blog: http://beyondccna.blogspot.co.uk/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,191

    Default Beginning in Networking

    syareefdol, the CCNA is not an introductory certification. It is an adanced internetworking certification. It is not the place to start if you are new to networking.

    You need to start at the CompTIA Network+, then choose the Cisco CCNET, and finally you can start studying for your CCNA.

    You can see this path on my web site at:
    http://www.globalnettraining.com/net...werprogram.asp

    Look for the GlobalNet Training Power-Packed Program #2:
    INTRODUCTION TO NETWORKING TRAINING


    Even if you are self studying, I have the Study guides for Network+ and CCENT. You really, really need to start there!

    Good luck!
    Todd Lammle

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    thanks fuzz..but in router...is there any management like switch?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,425

    Default

    Yes the router can be managed the same as the switch, but you don't need to assign an administrative IP address to the router itself as you can telnet into it using an active interface IP address.

    I'd listen to Todds advice though about Network+ certification first if you're new to networking concepts, it will really aid your Cisco studying. I took Network+ 2 years ago as I had no real knowledge of networking, other than what I could prise out of our network techinicians, and it has set me up well for the advanced topics that you are subjected to on the Cisco courses.
    CCNP R&S, CCNA DC
    Currently studying: CCIE R&S, CCNP Data Centre
    Follow my CCIE progress with study notes on my blog: http://beyondccna.blogspot.co.uk/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    thanks toddd and fuzz!!!!really appreciated it!!!!!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Switch module in a router
    By bs_kwaj in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 06:39 AM
  2. broadcast over switch and router
    By doshi.devang in forum Internetworking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-2010, 11:38 PM
  3. Difference between a multilayer Switch and Router?
    By Pramod.purohit in forum Announcements
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 01:18 PM
  4. About the different kinds of ports on a router or switch
    By gjianchang in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2009, 07:46 PM
  5. how to distinguish a device is a router or a switch
    By gjianchang in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-06-2009, 07:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •