CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Murarai
    Posts
    130

    Default EIGRP Redistributing query

    Hi All
    I have a slight confusion regarding the placement of redistribution of routing protocols.

    I have 5 routers A, B, C, D and E, and all of them are connected in a line using serial connection in a line like a train.

    All the five routers have EIGRP running in them, but A and B and E have AS 10, while I have set C and D to have AS 11. Now, my confusion is : (I) In router C, do do I place a 10 to 11 redistribution and 11 to 10 redistribution on D ?

    (II) I have kept in mind Todd's advice in his book, about letting multiple routing protocols in a router which will devour the bandwidth, but I have kept RIPv2 running on some of the routers along with EIGRP as I am just using a simulator and not a real router. Does the setting of the RIPv2 along with EIGRP affects any functioning of the EIGRP in the above mentioned scenario?

    Thanks

    Milan Chatterjee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by milanchatterjee View Post
    Hi All
    I have a slight confusion regarding the placement of redistribution of routing protocols.

    I have 5 routers A, B, C, D and E, and all of them are connected in a line using serial connection in a line like a train.

    All the five routers have EIGRP running in them, but A and B and E have AS 10, while I have set C and D to have AS 11. Now, my confusion is : (I) In router C, do do I place a 10 to 11 redistribution and 11 to 10 redistribution on D ?

    (II) I have kept in mind Todd's advice in his book, about letting multiple routing protocols in a router which will devour the bandwidth, but I have kept RIPv2 running on some of the routers along with EIGRP as I am just using a simulator and not a real router. Does the setting of the RIPv2 along with EIGRP affects any functioning of the EIGRP in the above mentioned scenario?

    Thanks

    Milan Chatterjee
    Its Fine in Lab But running multiple protocol can lead to crash of the router !!!
    one the router has to mange the eigrp route then RIP routes !!!
    combination of static + routing protocol can be used !!!
    *************** *************** ************
    Anurag Gambhir , Delhi
    India
    CCENT,CCNA ,CCNA Security

    anurag4friend@g mail.com


    *************** *************** ************

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Murarai
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Hi All
    I have found the solution to my answer. It took some lightning, thunder storms and a Can of Pepsi to find the solution. The thunder storms in my place helped to bring down the temperature and suddenly, my brain started functioning.

    Milan Chatterjee

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. verifying EIGRP, sh ip eigrp topology
    By wanfox in forum Chapter 9: EIGRP and OSPF
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2013, 07:03 PM
  2. controlling eigrp query process...
    By zoltron30 in forum Routing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 05:35 AM
  3. Ch7 EIGRP, pg 441 - sh ip eigrp topology question
    By cloughy123 in forum Routing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 04:27 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 12:39 PM
  5. Query
    By anurag2109 in forum PIX and ASA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 11:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •