CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default erase nvram gave problem

    Todd one of my friend hit the command erase nvram in 1841 after that the router doesn't detect the compact flash.Please help to fix the problem.Thank you.


    Anup

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    There is a few ways around this. I have done it a few times.

    Follow these steps.

    Code:
     
    
    To load an IOS onto a router using ROMmon mode via Ethernet cable:
    
    • Start the TFTP server (make sure the file path is correct and that you allow both transfer and receive)
    • Connect to the router via Ethernet cable (an Ethernet cable is preferred due to the large size of the file and the maximum speed that data can travel over the console cable)
    Before the IOS is loaded it is important to make sure that your router has enough memory to support the IOS. The router will allow an IOS to be loaded even if there is not enough memory, in this case a smaller IOS will have to be loaded.
    • At the rommon prompt enter the following commands (commands are case sensitive, and the use of the directional arrows and tab auto complete function is not allowed):
    IP_ADDRESS=IP address of the Ethernet port IP_SUBNET_MASK=subnet mask of the Ethernet port DEFAULT_GATEWAY=the default gateway TFTP_SERVER=the IP of the TFTP server (your local computer) TFTP_FILE=the file name of the IOS file tftpdnld
    • The router will then issue a warning message:
    Invoke this command for disaster recovery only. WARNING: all existing data in all partitions on flash will be lost! Do you wish to continue? y/n: [n]: y
    • Enter y, and the IOS will load
    • Once loaded you must boot up the new IOS by issuing the boot command
    To load an IOS onto a router using ROMmon mode via the Cisco console cable:
    • Connect to the router using the light blue Cisco console cable (make sure the RJ-45 connector is plugged into the console port on the router) using the 9600-8-N-1 settings. The next two steps (changing the console baud rate) are optional.
    • In ROMmon mode, change the baud rate to 15200 using the confreg command.
    rommon 1>confreg Configuration Summary enabled are: break/abort has effect console baud: 9600 boot: the ROM monitor The router will guide you through changing the registry. You want to press y to chang the configuration. The only other change you need to make is the change to the console baud rate, set that to 7 (115200). do you wish to change the configuration? y/n [n]: y enable "diagnostic mode"? y/n [n]: enable "use net in IP bcast address"? y/n [n]: enable "load rom after netboot fails"? y/n [n]: enable "use all zero broadcast"? y/n [n]: disable "break/abort has effect"? y/n [n]: enable "ignore system config info"? y/n [n]: change console baud rate? y/n [n]: y enter rate: 0 = 9600, 1 = 4800, 2 = 1200, 3 = 2400 4 = 19200, 5 = 38400, 6 = 57600, 7 = 115200 [0]: 7 change the boot characteristics? y/n [n]: Configuration Summary enabled are: break/abort has effect console baud: 115200 boot: the ROM Monitor do you wish to change the configuration? y/n [n]: You must reset or power cycle for new config to take effect. rommon 2>
    • When you reset the router in your console window you will see characters that you cannot read. You have to stop the session and set your baud rate to 115200. This will let you increase the speed that you use to transfer the file.
    • At the rommon prompt enter xmodem -c {filename}
    • When prompted, enter y to continue
    • From your hyperterminal prompt, click on transfter then send file
    • Select the IOS image then change the protocol to xmodem via the dropdown box then click send.
    • After the IOS has been downloaded, change the boot order by using the confreg 0x2102 command.
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,198

    Default

    What BE said to do is 100% correct.

    However, since the "erase nvram" command has nothing to do with the IOS in flash, it is possible your friend made a type and typed possible something like this "erase nrvam"...which makes the router commit suicide...the router erases both flash and nvram and reboots...nice, huh?

    Just do what BE said and you'll be fine....and watch for those typos when playing with nvram and flash!!

    Cheers!
    Todd Lammle

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    IP_ADDRESS: 192.168.1.2
    IP_SUBNET_MASK: 255.255.255.0
    DEFAULT_GATEWAY : 192.168.1.1
    TFTP_SERVER: 192.168.1.1
    TFTP_FILE: c1841-advsecurityk9-mz.124-7.bin
    TFTP_MACADDR: 00:24:c4:c3:11: 26flash: CompactFlash not present.

    Invalid device, "flash:", specified by TFTP_DESTINATIO N

    I got compactflash not present error although i have used and properly verified.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,198

    Default

    type show flash

    plus I am not sure if that line is a typo, but it wouldn't work as typed in as you show.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It is not showing flash card / not detected.Is there any command or steps to be detect flashcard.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    System Bootstrap, Version 12.4(13r)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Technical Support: http://www.cisco.com/techsupport
    Copyright (c) 2006 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    PLD version 0x10
    GIO ASIC version 0x127
    c1841 platform with 131072 Kbytes of main memory
    Main memory is configured to 64 bit mode with parity disabled


    Readonly ROMMON initialized
    flash: CompactFlash not present.

    System Bootstrap, Version 12.4(13r)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Technical Support: http://www.cisco.com/techsupport
    Copyright (c) 2006 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    PLD version 0x10
    GIO ASIC version 0x127
    c1841 platform with 131072 Kbytes of main memory
    Main memory is configured to 64 bit mode with parity disabled


    Readonly ROMMON initialized
    flash: CompactFlash not present.

    System Bootstrap, Version 12.4(13r)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Technical Support: http://www.cisco.com/techsupport
    Copyright (c) 2006 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    PLD version 0x10
    GIO ASIC version 0x127
    c1841 platform with 131072 Kbytes of main memory
    Main memory is configured to 64 bit mode with parity disabled


    Readonly ROMMON initialized


    Please help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Check the flash card that goes in the front. You may have to place a image on it via ghost or something.

    HTH
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    BE will please guide me to load ios via ghost .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    You will have to have a card reader, and check what image is on that. Then you will need a ghost program, like Norton Ghost.
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    226

    Default Power off and re-seat.

    Try powering off the router. Remove and re-seat the CF card and power on. I have seen the problem you are having several times (especially on routers shipped to sites I service.)
    John

    CCNA
    CCNA:Voice
    ATSA Internetworking - AdTran

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is VLAN database stored in NVRAM or Flash?
    By hassaan in forum Chapter 11: Virtual LANs (VLANs)
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-03-2013, 10:22 AM
  2. Flash vs NVRAM
    By wardp100 in forum Cisco® IOS
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-04-2011, 11:22 PM
  3. Problem with PT 5.3
    By milanchatterjee in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 10:47 AM
  4. problem
    By ccna in forum ISCW
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 11:48 AM
  5. Please help With Chapter 5 & Flash Erase
    By ZR_Seanie in forum Cisco® IOS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2009, 02:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •