CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Durban,South Africa
    Posts
    102

    Default 1760 router upgrade

    I was just about ready to start my CCNP ROUTE until I upgraded my IOS on my 1760 router.

    Old IOS: c1700-y-mz.122-11.T11.bin
    new IOS: c1700-advipservicesk9-mz.124-15.T11.bin

    It all seemed fine after an upgrade untill I rebooted my router and got following massage:

    program load complete, entry point: 0x80008000, size: 0x187d8fc
    Error : memory requirements exceed available memory
    Memory required : 0x0414EEFC
    *** System received a Software forced crash ***
    signal= 0x17, code= 0x4, context= 0x8000c510
    PC = 0x0, Vector = 0x0, SP = 0x0



    Where did I go wrong ,please assist.

    Cheerz~!
    Diploma: Computer systems engineering
    Cisco: CCNA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    1,456

    Default

    I'm guessing the new OS has higher memory requirements, so you need to add more DRAM. (I'm guessing this isn't a flash issue if the new image is already loaded.) Check your router matches the requirements for the new IOS.
    CCNP R&S, CCNA DC
    Currently studying: CCIE R&S, CCNP Data Centre
    Follow my CCIE progress with study notes on my blog: http://beyondccna.blogspot.co.uk/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,887

    Default

    Yep you will need.

    c1700-advipservicesk9-mz.124-15.T11.bin - DRAM /Min Flash 160/32
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Evil View Post
    Yep you will need.

    c1700-advipservicesk9-mz.124-15.T11.bin - DRAM /Min Flash 160/32
    It will however run with 128/32. I have 2 of these that I ran in my lab. The first (show ver below) is the 32F on-board. The second is configured the same was but is the 16F on-board version.
    Code:
    c1760BB#sh ver
    Cisco IOS Software, C1700 Software (C1700-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M), Version 12.4(15)T11, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)
     
    ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(7r)XM2, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    c1760BB uptime is 1 week, 3 days, 16 hours, 56 minutes
    System returned to ROM by power-on
    System restarted at 15:44:52 MST Mon Mar 7 2011
    System image file is "flash:c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11.bin"
     
    Cisco 1760 (MPC860P) processor (revision 0x500) with 123261K/7811K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID FOC07481C1G (2170023920), with hardware revision 0000
    MPC860P processor: part number 5, mask 2
    1 Ethernet interface
    5 FastEthernet interfaces
    1 Serial interface
    2 Voice FXO interfaces
    WIC T1-DSU
    32K bytes of NVRAM.
    65536K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)
    Configuration register is 0x2102
    c1760BB#
    I moved the 1760 I gave the sh ver for above from my lab rack and re-provisioned as my backbone connection for internet back before the first of the year after one of the slots of an NM-2V caused my 2621XM to crash. I had been running the 1760 in my lab (in the configuration shown) since Feburary 2010 with no issues and I have had no problems since re-tasking it.

    I pulled the 2nd 1760 earlier this week and will set it up as an HSRP backup for my primary in the next few weeks. I replaced this one in my rack with a 2620XM I had sitting around (one I actually used as a Gatekeeper in my CVOICE studies). This 1760 (early version) will only support 128M DRAM.

    As configured, both will work fine in a low demand setting (such as my home office with just my wife and I). If in a high demand setting, I would definitely upgrade the DRAM to max on the router I gave the sh ver and downgrade the IOS on the second.

    These are great routers, providing much versitility. The only negative is the time they take to boot.

    As a side note, the 1760's take the same memory modules as the 26**XM routers.
    John

    CCNA
    CCNA:Voice
    ATSA Internetworking - AdTran

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    554

    Default

    Hello,
    and my site note is:

    When a router has less memory as Cisco suggested and you have problems with it - start with upgrading the memory before troubleshooting the problem!

    HTH!
    Bye, Tore

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crissa View Post
    Hello,
    and my site note is:

    When a router has less memory as Cisco suggested and you have problems with it - start with upgrading the memory before troubleshooting the problem!

    HTH!
    Bye, Tore
    Exactly. This is what we did when we had computers that acted erratically or we dead slow! PC manufacturers used to sell PCs with the very minimal RAM installed, i.e Dell w/ P4 2.4G and 128MB RAM w/ WinXP. The PC would load but trying to do anything was a painful experience. XP would load in 128MB RAM but Microsoft has a minimum recommendation of 256M (which was better but still not very good)! Drop 1GB in and the PC flew like a jet!
    John

    CCNA
    CCNA:Voice
    ATSA Internetworking - AdTran

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Connect 2950C to 1760
    By devik in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 07:03 AM
  2. Serial upgrade...WIC T1 or WIC 56k?
    By yuronald in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 07:37 PM
  3. 1900 upgrade
    By SB-K in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2009, 03:54 AM
  4. cisco 1760 router????
    By zoltron30 in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2009, 10:43 PM
  5. cisco 2620XM router upgrade
    By Kokich in forum CCNA Equipment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-24-2009, 03:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •