CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default DTE DCE difference

    Hi,

    Can you pls tell me difference between DCE and DTE.

    I dont understand it. I think DTE is server or computer and DCE is router. It's correct ? if no pls send me picture with solution. Thank you very much.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kwaj
    Posts
    325

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gr33d3r View Post
    Hi,

    Can you pls tell me difference between DCE and DTE.

    I dont understand it. I think DTE is server or computer and DCE is router. It's correct ? if no pls send me picture with solution. Thank you very much.
    Let's see..
    DCE - Data Communications Equipment
    DTE - Data Terminal Equipment

    Typically, DCE equipment is at the service provider, or maybe the modem or DSU/CSU that connects to your equipment, and DTE equipment is your equipment. DCE provides the clocking on the line so the 2 devices can sync up and communicate.

    In a CCNA lab however, you might have 2 serial modules, such as WIC-1T's, and each is in a separate router and one has to act as DCE to provide clocking and the other has to act as DTE.

    That's sort of it in a nutshell as I understand it.

    Edit: I also found it like this:
    DCE : Data Circuit-Terminating Equipment
    Last edited by bs_kwaj; 09-11-2011 at 04:17 AM.
    I thought I was wrong once. But, of course, I was wrong.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Pretty much if it's something with a processor making decisions it's going to fall under the Data Terminal Equipment. (ie: computer, router, multiplexer). DCE devices or Data Communications Equipment will be devices that just push the signal along and amplify it. (ie: CSU/DSU's, Modems, and other items that create the signal path).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    You need to be aware of whether you are talking about Layer 1 or Layer 2 DTE/DCE. The above answers are correct for Layer 1 DTE/DCE.

    Certain protocols (eg FR) also use the concept of DTE/DCE within the protocol messaging. Typically the FR Network acts as the "Protocol" DCE and the Router as the "Protocol" DTE - that's the default. This ensures correct operation of the LMI protocol.

    This is identified in "sh frame-relay lmi" and also, "sh interface" commands

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    554

    Default Dce

    Hello,
    remember (for layer 1): DCE => Do Clock Enable!
    Bye, Tore

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    39

    Default

    From Priviledge exec mode, You can also run "show controller serial #" to find out if the interface is the DCE or DTE.
    Patrick
    Network+, A+, MCP, CCENT, CCNA

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Instead of starting a new thread....

    I have a questions regarding the DCE-DTE cables. Is there a difference between the following two cables? I have both WIC-1T and WIC-2T modules that I want to connect. Depending on my setup, I may want the WIC-1T to provide clocking or the WIC-2T to provide clocking.

    Is there a physical difference between these two cables?

    http://www.dantraknet.com/category/13
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kwaj
    Posts
    325

    Default

    Yes, there is a difference. For instance, you can't connect the little DTE connector to your WIC-2T and expect the WIC-2T to work as a DCE connection.

    I'm no expert... but I assume that these cables are, of course, wired differently in the connectors.
    I thought I was wrong once. But, of course, I was wrong.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Difference between a switch and a hub?
    By joccar2 in forum Network + Exam N10-005
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2013, 02:26 AM
  2. What is the difference between a hub and a switch
    By moa_ in forum Network + Exam N10-005
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2013, 08:45 AM
  3. Difference between lan and wan?
    By mohitshah in forum Chapter 1: Internetworking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 10:29 AM
  4. Difference between ver 5 and ver 6
    By Ian W in forum Internetworking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2008, 09:54 AM
  5. Difference Between LSP and LSA!!!
    By kumaran in forum Routing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 01:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •