CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 34 of 34
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    554

    Default T&t: %cdp-4-duplex_mismatch

    Hello,
    I found two ways to avoid the following message:

    ---------
    000040: Jan 9 21:53:34.449: %CDP-4-DUPLEX_MISMATCH : duplex mismatch discovered on FastEthernet0 (not half duplex), with r2511a.arbzim.b ogus Ethernet0 (half duplex).
    --------

    As I can't change the duplex setting on the r2511a router I was looking for a way to avoid this message.


    no cdp advertise-v2

    This disables the duplex mismatch message. But it also disables VTP Management Domain Name and Native VLAN messages. The advantage is that you only need to configure it on the router where you can't fix the duplex setting on the interface (in my case the r2511a router).


    no cdp log mismatch duplex

    This command only disables the duplex mismatch message. The advantage of this command is that you can configure it global or only on an interface. The disadvantage is that you have to configure it on both routers (in my case on the r2511a router and on the router where I found the message).


    See <http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios-...3-3C88536AA42D> and <http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios-...F-1BF3261B8DDA> for more information.

    HTH!
    Bye, Tore

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    ^^^^^^^ That is cool - thanks.
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Forget about downloading software to decrypt type 7 passwords, just use a router

    Step 1: Firstly, in this example I am going to create a username and encrypt the password:

    Router(config)# username test password cisco
    Router(config)# service password-encryption


    Step 2: Now, when show run is used, an encrypted version of the password is displayed:

    Router(config)# do sh run | include username

    username test password 7 121A0C041104


    Step 3: Create a key chain and copy the encrypted password as the key string (remember to use 7 to tell the router that the copied password is encrypted):

    Router(config)# key chain getpassword
    Router(config-keychain)#key 1
    Router(config-keychain-key)#key-string 7 121A0C041104

    Step 4: Now, all we need to do is display the password:

    Router(config-keychain-key)#do show key chain getpassword

    Key-chain getpassword:
    key 1 -- text "cisco"
    accept lifetime (always valid) - (always valid) [valid now]
    send lifetime (always valid) - (always valid) [valid now]
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Right here
    Posts
    452

    Default

    Pretty kewl...I'm thinking that's not going to show up on the test(CCENT/CCNA)!

    Helpful tip though, Thanx!
    A+, Network+, CCNA, CCNP/Data Center wannabe
    A spark of encouragement can ignite great endeavors

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    LOL - i hope not mate!
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Left Coast, California
    Posts
    306

    Default

    I like life the easy way...
    http://packetlife.net/toolbox/type7/
    Last edited by ciscodaze; 01-30-2012 at 03:12 PM.
    Kevin NET+SEC+A+CCNA
    'All that is not eternal is eternally out of date' ~ C.S. Lewis

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    554

    Default Hide a Token Ring router

    Hello,
    good finding and posting from BE. I don't think that the newest post on my blog will top it: <http://blog.rotten.li/2012/02/01/hid...n-ring-router/>

    But I think that my latest article is a good Tip and Trick and that it is worth to post it here and that it maybe will be useful for people that get old (Token Ring) equipment.
    Bye, Tore

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Damm - that is good Tore!
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    554

    Default

    BE,
    thank you!
    Bye, Tore

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Pittsburgh Pa
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I want to add the proper way to clear a switch before it is added to a production network. Alot of network students buy eBay equipment and dont know where to start.

    CORE-SW1>enable
    Password:
    CORE-SW1#erase startup-config
    Erasing the nvram filesystem will remove all configuration files! Continue? [confirm]
    [OK] ENTER
    Erase of nvram: complete
    %SYS-7-NV_BLOCK_INIT: Initialized the geometry of nvram
    CORE-SW1#delet
    CORE-SW1#delete vlan.dat
    Delete filename [vlan.dat]? ENTER
    Delete flash:/vlan.dat? [confirm] ENTER

    CORE-SW1#erase startup-config
    Erasing the nvram filesystem will remove all configuration files! Continue? [confirm]
    [OK] ENTER
    Erase of nvram: complete
    %SYS-7-NV_BLOCK_INIT: Initialized the geometry of nvram
    CORE-SW1#reload
    Proceed with reload? [confirm]
    %SYS-5-RELOAD: Reload requested by console. Reload Reason: Reload Command.

    C2950 Boot Loader (C2950-HBOOT-M) Version 12.1(11r)EA1, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Compiled Mon 22-Jul-02 18:57 by miwang
    Cisco WS-C2950T-24 (RC32300) processor (revision C0) with 21039K bytes of memory.
    2950T-24 starting...
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 0004.9A6C.D871
    Xmodem file system is available.
    Initializing Flash...
    flashfs[0]: 1 files, 0 directories
    flashfs[0]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[0]: Total bytes: 64016384
    flashfs[0]: Bytes used: 3058048
    flashfs[0]: Bytes available: 60958336
    flashfs[0]: flashfs fsck took 1 seconds.
    ...done Initializing Flash.

    Boot Sector Filesystem (bs installed, fsid: 3
    Parameter Block Filesystem (pb installed, fsid: 4


    Loading "flash:/c2950-i6q4l2-mz.121-22.EA4.bin"...
    ############### ############### ############### ############### ############## [OK]
    Restricted Rights Legend

    Use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is
    subject to restrictions as set forth in subparagraph
    (c) of the Commercial Computer Software - Restricted
    Rights clause at FAR sec. 52.227-19 and subparagraph
    (c) (1) (ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer
    Software clause at DFARS sec. 252.227-7013.

    cisco Systems, Inc.
    170 West Tasman Drive
    San Jose, California 95134-1706



    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C2950 Software (C2950-I6Q4L2-M), Version 12.1(22)EA4, RELEASE SOFTWARE(fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-2005 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Wed 18-May-05 22:31 by jharirba

    Cisco WS-C2950T-24 (RC32300) processor (revision C0) with 21039K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID FHK0610Z0WC
    Running Standard Image
    24 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    2 Gigabit Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)

    63488K bytes of flash-simulated non-volatile configuration memory.
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 0004.9A6C.D871
    Motherboard assembly number: 73-5781-09
    Power supply part number: 34-0965-01
    Motherboard serial number: FOC061004SZ
    Power supply serial number: DAB0609127D
    Model revision number: C0
    Motherboard revision number: A0
    Model number: WS-C2950T-24
    System serial number: FHK0610Z0WC

    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C2950 Software (C2950-I6Q4L2-M), Version 12.1(22)EA4, RELEASE SOFTWARE(fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-2005 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Wed 18-May-05 22:31 by jharirba

    Press RETURN to get started!

    Switch>en
    Switch#show vlan brief Should only be 5 default VLANs

    VLAN Name Status Ports
    ---- -------------------------------- --------- -------------------------------
    1 default active Fa0/1, Fa0/2, Fa0/3, Fa0/4
    Fa0/5, Fa0/6, Fa0/7, Fa0/8
    Fa0/9, Fa0/10, Fa0/11, Fa0/12
    Fa0/13, Fa0/14, Fa0/15, Fa0/16
    Fa0/17, Fa0/18, Fa0/19, Fa0/20
    Fa0/21, Fa0/22, Fa0/23, Fa0/24
    Gig1/1, Gig1/2
    1002 fddi-default active
    1003 token-ring-default active
    1004 fddinet-default active
    1005 trnet-default active

    Switch#show vtp status
    VTP Version : 2
    Configuration Revision : 0
    Maximum VLANs supported locally : 255
    Number of existing VLANs : 5
    VTP Operating Mode : Server
    VTP Domain Name :
    VTP Pruning Mode : Disabled
    VTP V2 Mode : Disabled
    VTP Traps Generation : Disabled
    MD5 digest : 0x7D 0x5A 0xA6 0x0E 0x9A 0x72 0xA0 0x3A
    Configuration last modified by 0.0.0.0 at 0-0-00 00:00:00
    Local updater ID is 0.0.0.0 (no valid interface found)
    Switch#

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default SPAN on Nexus

    I use SPAN a lot - study and work.
    Today i tried to SPAN a port(s) on a NX2K. First off the syntax is not the same as what i was used too -

    For example - basic SPAN

    Code:
    monitor session 1 source interface f0/1
    monitor session 1 destination interface f0/24
    Then i filter my output in Wireshark. Simple - solved many issues this was in the past. How different can a NX be?

    Code:
    monitor session 1 source int Ethernet101/1/19, 101/1/20
                            ^
    % Invalid command at '^' marker.
    Ok - after use of the ? and tab.

    Code:
    monitor session 1
    source int Ethernet101/1/19, 101/1/20
    destination Ethernet101/1/30
    destination int Ethernet101/1/19 
    ERROR: Eth101/1/30: Configuration not allowed on fex interface
    WTF - Yep cannot SPAN on the 2K, unless someone know any different?
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default When data center cabling becomes art!

    Check this out - puts my cable runs to shame!







    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    And some more great ones -







    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    554

    Default

    Great art!
    Thanks for posting.
    Bye, Tore

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CCNA Preparation Tips
    By ravinder2186 in forum General Questions (Any Chapter)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 08:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •