CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    39

    Default ch9 -- show ip ospf database - 7th ed.

    I followed the OSPF settings closely, but i don't understand why on page 469, the database net link output shows this in the book (red)...my output is below in (blue)

    book:
    Net Link States (Area 0)
    Link ID ADV Router Age Seq# Checksum
    10.1.5.1 10.1.5.1 491 0x80000002 0x000c57



    my net link output shows:

    Net Link States (Area 0)
    Link ID ADV Router Age Seq# Checksum
    10.1.5.2 172.16.10.1 491 0x80000002 0x000c57


    ---------------------------------------------------------


    CORP#show ip ospf database
    OSPF Router with ID (10.1.5.1) (Process ID 132)
    Router Link States (Area 0)

    Link ID ADV Router Age Seq# Checksum Link count
    10.1.5.1 10.1.5.1 83 0x8000000c 0x00feff 8
    172.16.10.1 172.16.10.1 491 0x80000006 0x00feff 2
    192.168.20.1 192.168.20.1 490 0x8000000d 0x00feff 6
    192.168.40.1 192.168.40.1 84 0x80000005 0x00feff 4

    Net Link States (Area 0)
    Link ID ADV Router Age Seq# Checksum
    10.1.5.2 172.16.10.1 491 0x80000002 0x000c57



    -----------------------------------
    also - in the book, the router R3 network statement is:

    r3...router ospf 132
    r3...network 10.1.5.2 0.0.0.0 area 0

    why is r3's network statement different from R1 & R2's network statements?

    r1...router ospf 132
    r1...network 10.1.2.0 0.0.0.255 area 0
    r1...network 10.1.3.0 0.0.0.255 area 0

    Thanks,
    Pcameron1
    Patrick
    Network+, A+, MCP, CCENT, CCNA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    39

    Default

    also - in the book, the router R3 network statement is:
    r3...router ospf 132
    r3...network 10.1.5.2 0.0.0.0 area 0
    why is r3's network statement different from R1 & R2's network statements?

    -------

    I think I found the answer to my question, on page 464. Basically, the network statement can be written more than one way.

    The statement "network 10.1.5.2 0.0.0.0 area 0"
    I believe this is saying, "the ip address must match each octet exactly"
    Patrick
    Network+, A+, MCP, CCENT, CCNA

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is VLAN database stored in NVRAM or Flash?
    By hassaan in forum Chapter 11: Virtual LANs (VLANs)
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-03-2013, 10:22 AM
  2. May be this show some clues!
    By swaminathan in forum Routing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2009, 01:20 AM
  3. VLAN Database
    By typesh in forum Switching
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-15-2009, 08:49 PM
  4. show eigrp o/p
    By mos33 in forum Routing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2008, 05:08 PM
  5. AAA using the local Database
    By aguilera in forum PIX and ASA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 08:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •