CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Static Routing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Static Routing

    thank you ...
    Last edited by Big Evil; 12-08-2011 at 10:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Heres our topology (click to enlarge picture at the bottom) of post.

    There are two static routes configured on R4 to reach loopback addresses on R5. One of the routes points the next-hop IP address of R5′s s0/1 interface and the other just points to R4′s s0/1 interface.

    The static routes on R4:
    r4:
    ip route 5.5.5.0 255.255.255.0 s0/1
    ip route 55.55.55.0 255.255.255.0 10.1.1.5

    R4#sh ip route static
    55.0.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    S 55.55.55.0 [1/0] via 10.1.1.5 <- AD of 1
    5.0.0.0/24 is subnetted, 1 subnets
    S 5.5.5.0 is directly connected, Serial0/1 <-no AD listed so AD=0?

    But if we look at the individual IP routes, we see:

    R4#sh ip route 55.55.55.55
    Routing entry for 55.55.55.0/24
    Known via static, distance 1, metric 0 <-AD of 1
    Routing Descriptor Blocks:
    * 10.1.1.5
    Route metric is 0, traffic share count is 1

    R4#sh ip route 5.5.5.5
    Routing entry for 5.5.5.0/24
    Known via static, distance 1, metric 0 (connected) <-AD of 1
    Routing Descriptor Blocks:
    * directly connected, via Serial0/1
    Route metric is 0, traffic share count is 1

    This verifies that the default AD for a static route is one, regardless of whether the route points to a next-hop IP address or an outgoing interface.

    Further proved that this is true by configuring two /24 routes to the same IP address, one pointing to a next-hop IP address and one to the point-to-point interface. The router load-balanced over both links. This proves that the routes have the same AD because if they did not, the router would only install the route with the lower AD (assuming the routes have the same longest match).

    So, is the zero AD for static routes just a Cisco urban legend? In his excellent writing concerning this issue, Ivan Pepelnjak advises that at one time the AD of a static route pointing to an interface WAS zero.

    http://blog.ioshints.info/2007/02/no...e-created.html

    You should definitely read the entire post. Ivan also may have pinpointed when the change was made.

    HTH.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thank you ....
    Last edited by Big Evil; 12-08-2011 at 10:41 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    When replying to posts you will find here that most members will give you a detailed answer - this does help for future member questions to read threads and not have post the same question time after time.

    In answer to your question - there is many a Cisco question that is like that. Always answer (in exams) as how Cisco documents state it - even if in the real world of networking you know 100% that is not the case. Many an experienced engineer will fail the CCNA exam as they know there is a work around or the IOS they most use does not do what is claimed.

    There is a technical errata thread here should you require.
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcyagli View Post
    Thank you ....

    mcyagli, before you moderated your incorrect comments, I wanted to ask if you were just having fun or being serious towards me and my book. If it's the second, then you are wrong and I don't like your tone. I always take corrections and are willing to talk to anyone about them.
    But I will not be mocked on my own forum, especially about something I am not wrong about. The ip subnet-zero command allows you to use (or not use) the first AND last subnet. Your statement is incorrect, not the one in my book.

    Now if you were just being funny and quirky, we do like that, but I couldn't tell by what you wrote which direction you were going.

    We enjoy a good time here, writing about good topics, adding information on subject in my book, and even talking about possibly incorrect statements - it happens.

    If you are going to be a postive helpful member, then we welcome you with open arms.

    Todd Lammle

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Dear Lammle, (or should i have skipped this as you did )

    Thank you for answer.

    It is obvious that you read what i wrote.

    Please do not read from bottom to up !

    The very first statement was SO CLEAR .

    "AD VALUE" issue !

    I was/am really curious to know !


    Unfortunately, the moderator did not even care about what i needed
    and tried to prove me what i already do know although the question was so simple!


    And there was nothing to be offended.

    Since I have been teaching by using your books, i feel i have the right to learn!



    And ;

    The ip subnet-zero issue,

    Did you ever try it ?

    Just do this command "no ip subnet-zero"

    and see if you can or can not use THE LAST SUBNET !

    I will be waiting for your answers .

    Then I will be posting about many things which are not clear according to me.


    I think I made myself quite clear.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcyagli View Post
    Unfortunately, the moderator did not even care about what i needed
    and tried to prove me what i already do know although the question was so simple!
    I have already been very clear why i answered like i did - so as other can learn too. Maybe you should have been clearer in your question?

    If you meant no offence why have you deleted your posts?
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    "If you meant no offence why have you deleted your posts?"

    Can it be the same reason why you deleted my reasons?


    "Maybe you should have been clearer in your question?"

    I can't understand What difference you see between the first and last posts.


    Sorry,

    I guess We d better stop this since i am not here to argue.

    This wont help us both.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcyagli View Post
    "If you meant no offence why have you deleted your posts?"

    Can it be the same reason why you deleted my reasons?
    No - I found what you put as offensive toward me - i would have removed this if this was pointed towards any member here.

    Quote Originally Posted by mcyagli View Post
    "Maybe you should have been clearer in your question?"


    I can't understand What difference you see between the first and last posts.
    Ok - if you had phrased better and missed out the ranting perhaps?


    Quote Originally Posted by mcyagli View Post
    Sorry,

    I guess We d better stop this since i am not here to argue.

    This wont help us both.
    It will not help you, no.

    Your first posted was a great point (static route AD) and one that has not been asked/posted here and a point i had long forgot about since i Googled and found what Ivan wrote- again my answer will benefit all members.
    Maddox Thomas-Clark 14/10/2008
    Bean Thomas-Clark 18/09/2007
    Big Evils Cisco World
    Linkedin

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. OSPF vs Static Routing Table
    By BlitzMX in forum CCENT Chapter 9: Open Shortest Path First
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2014, 04:29 AM
  2. Hands on Lab 14.2: Static and Default Routing
    By greens in forum Chapter 14: Introduction to IPv6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2014, 06:08 AM
  3. Routing Protocol and Static Routing
    By Frank in forum Routing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 05:42 AM
  4. Question about Dynamic and Static Routing
    By Frank in forum Routing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 04:47 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 09:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •