CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Threaded View

  1. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Left Coast, California
    Posts
    306

    Default

    When you do a back to back like that, with no FR switch in the topo, LMI is trying to talk to a FR switch that is not there, so you go up/down

    LMI carries messages to/from the FR to the remote routers about DLCIs, LMI type and also acts like a keepalive. Only between your router and the SP edge.

    It needs to be disabled in b2b or you get the up down state, because there is no FR switch to talk to.

    You did it right. YES, regular frame relay requires LMI, but that comes up AUTOMATICALLY the minute you set encapsultation frame-relay which is why we had to manually shut it off with no keepalive.

    some academy instructor just posted two FR labs on cisco forum that you can try
    https://learningnetwork.cisco.com/thread/41622?tstart=0
    Last edited by ciscodaze; 04-04-2012 at 03:38 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Frame-Relay
    By ivan_neves in forum Routing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 12:15 PM
  2. Frame Relay
    By Steve in forum Remote Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-27-2010, 04:38 AM
  3. Frame Relay & PVC
    By Ash! in forum Remote Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 07:18 PM
  4. Frame Relay
    By Ash! in forum Remote Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 09:25 PM
  5. Frame Relay
    By Ash! in forum Internetworking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2008, 12:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

css.php