CCNA Video Training Series

Instant Access, Web or Mobile!

Only $99 for 30 days...
Renew at half price!

Buy/Renew

Includes FREE Practice Exams!

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Official Lammle User Forum

  #1  
Old 05-11-2010, 11:08 AM
Commander_Keen Commander_Keen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
Default Routing

If PC A on Subnet A pings PC B on Subnet B and has to go through 5 routers, how many times does the Source Mac address change.
I am under the understanding that once the TCP header leaves the PC A it (TCP Header/packet ) gets updated as it is leaving the exit interface of the first 1 router. But what happes, when it reaches to the 5th router.
Does the header ( Source Mac Address) change when it goes from Router to router?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2010, 12:43 PM
DonB DonB is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California, US
Posts: 115
Default

The mac address is layer 2 and TCP/IP is layers 3 and 4.

The layer 2 uses the mac address for sending packets on the local link only therefore, both the source mac and the destination mac will change on each link the packet travels. The source mac will be the mac address of the exit interface and the destination mac will be the mac address of the next destination device either a client or inbound interface of the next hop router
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2010, 10:33 AM
Commander_Keen Commander_Keen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
Default

So if a packet passes through 5 routers, then does the source change 5 times?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2010, 11:21 AM
Fuzz Fuzz is offline
Cisco Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 1,413
Default

PC A - Router A = first write of src/dst MAC
Router A - Router B = first rewrite of src/dst
Router B - Router C = second rewrite of src/dst
Router C - Router D = third rewrite of src/dst
Router D - Router E = fourth rewrite of src/dst
Router E - PC B = fifth rewrite of src/dst

So you see the MAC address gets written 6 times, but changes 5 times.
__________________
CCNP R&S, CCNA DC
Currently studying: CCIE R&S, CCNP Data Centre
Follow my CCIE progress with study notes on my blog: http://beyondccna.blogspot.co.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2010, 02:09 PM
DonB DonB is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California, US
Posts: 115
Default

Ethernet uses the mac address to send frames between device on a network LINK.

PC A ---> Router A Source mac is your pc Destination mac is Router A
Router A --> Router B Source mac is Router A Desintation mac is Router B
Router B --> Router C Source mac is Router B Desintation mac is Router C
Router C --> Router D Source mac is Router C Desintation mac is Router D
Router D --> Router E Source mac is Router D Desintation mac is Router E
Router E --> PC B Source mac is Router E Desintation mac is PC B
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:33 PM
Agnel Agnel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonB View Post
Ethernet uses the mac address to send frames between device on a network LINK.

PC A ---> Router A Source mac is your pc Destination mac is Router A
Router A --> Router B Source mac is Router A Desintation mac is Router B
Router B --> Router C Source mac is Router B Desintation mac is Router C
Router C --> Router D Source mac is Router C Desintation mac is Router D
Router D --> Router E Source mac is Router D Desintation mac is Router E
Router E --> PC B Source mac is Router E Desintation mac is PC B
Just to add some extra details.

When the frame leaves the router, the source address in the frame is that of the mac address of the exit interface of the router. The destination mac address is always of that of the next immediate device. (Usually the receiving interface of the next router).

The Source IP and Destination IP never changes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2010, 07:43 AM
Commander_Keen Commander_Keen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
Default

GOT IT !!!!!

thanks guys for your help with this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2010, 08:43 AM
anurag007 anurag007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agnel View Post

The Source IP and Destination IP never changes.
Wat abt NAT !!!
__________________
******************************************
Anurag Gambhir , Delhi
India
CCENT,CCNA ,CCNA Security

anurag4friend@gmail.com


******************************************
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dod model, OSI model and routing sshikles Network + Exam N10-005 4 04-16-2011 04:46 PM
Routing Protocol and Static Routing Frank Routing 3 03-04-2010 05:42 AM
Default routing is confusing, help!!! otto4u Chapter 8: IP Routing 3 08-05-2009 12:46 PM
RIP protocols-classfull routing and classless namar Routing 2 05-11-2009 09:58 AM
loops and other problems with default routing maiaeutic Routing 5 01-11-2009 07:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
css.php